Chartered Accountants work in all fields of business and finance, including audit, taxation, financial and general management. Some are engaged in public practice work, others work in the private sector and some are employed by government bodies.

Chartered Accountants’ institutes require members to undertake a minimum level of continuing professional development to stay professionally competitive. They facilitate special interest groups (for instance, entertainment and media, or insolvency and restructuring) which lead in their fields. They provide support to members by offering advisory services, technical help lines and technical libraries. They also offer opportunities for professional networking and career and business development.


    • The CPT or Common Proficiency Test is the first level of Chartered Accountancy examinations. A person can register for CPT after completing Grade 10 and take the exam after completing High School (Grade 12). It is an objective type examination and consists of 200 multiple choice questions. CPT covers four basic subjects divided into two sections viz.
      1. Fundamentals of Accounting (60 Marks) + Mercantile Laws(40 Marks)
      2. Economics (50 Marks) + Quantitative Aptitude(50 Marks).

      Every incorrect answer on the CPT exam carries a 0.25 negative mark..A candidate is required to secure a minimum of 30 per cent marks in each Section and a minimum of 50 per cent marks in aggregate in all the four Sections to pass the Common Proficiency Test. CPT exams are held in June and December in paper pencil mode. On-line CPT exams are also conducted periodically. But with effect from 3rd Aug 2012 CPT is exempted for the Graduates, Post Graduates and the students having equivalent degrees. Commerce graduates with 55% and other graduates with 60% can take direct admission for IPCC.

      1. Principles of Practices of Accounting
      2. Business Maths & Logical Reasoning
      3. Mercantile Law & General English
      4. Business Economics & Business and commercial knowledge

    • IPC or Intermediate Professional Course is the second level of Chartered Accountancy examinations. A person can take the IPC Examination after passing CPT and nine months of study. IPC has two groups of seven subjects. Group – I consists of four subjects and Group – II of three


AccountingAdvanced Accounting
Corporate Law & Other Law Auditing & Assurance
Cost Accounting Financial Management & Business Economic Environment
Direct Tax Laws & Indirect Tax Laws Information Technology & Strategic Management

A passing grade is awarded if the candidate obtains 40% marks in each subject and 50% in aggregate in each group.



CA Final Examination is the last and final level of Chartered Accountancy Examinations. Any person who has passed both the groups of IPCC, during the last twelve months of articleship can take the Final Examination. This exam consists of two groups of four subjects each viz.

CA Finals

Group I Group II
Financial Reporting Advanced Management Accounting
Strategic Financial Management Financial Services & Capital Markets & Information Systems Control & Audit
Advanced Auditing & Professional Ethics Advanced Direct Tax Laws & International Taxation
Corporate Law & Other Economic Laws Advanced Indirect Tax Laws